NIST Cyber Security Framework

The NIST Cybersecurity Framework seeks to address the lack of standards when it comes to security. There are currently major differences in the way companies are using technologies, languages, and rules to fight hackers, data pirates, and ransomware.

Cyberattacks are becoming more widespread and complex, and fighting these attacks are becoming much more difficult. This is compounded by the lack of a unified strategy among organizations. 

The different sets of policies, guidelines, best practices, and technologies used in cybersecurity gives rise to yet another problem: organizations are not able to share information about attacks. If your enterprise experiences a hacking attempt, you can talk to a colleague working for another company who had experienced the same kind of attack before.  Keep in mind, though, that what they did may not necessarily work for you.

We Can Help You Achieve NIST Cybersecurity Compliance

CyberSecOP Security consultants are the experts with over 50 NIST compliance project since NIST 1.1, we have been assisting our customers comply with State and Federal business and privacy regulations for two decades.

Working as either a full-service consultant, or as an adjunct to your in-house teams, CyberSecOp Security will execute our phased compliance readiness process to ensure that the business meets or exceeds your compliance requirements.

NIST Cybersecurity PROGRAM Covers Privacy, Policies, COntrols & Standards

The foundation for an organization's cybersecurity and privacy program is its policies and standards. These components form the alignment with leading practices to help ensure applicable statutory, regulatory and contractual requirements for cybersecurity and privacy are addressed. From these policies and standards, procedures and other program-level guidance provide the specific details of how these policies and standards are implemented.

NIST Framework Implementation with CyberSecOP

Below are some of the more commonly practiced NIST-800 Special Publications that Praetorian Secure has experience in assisting with implementation, design, authorization and configuration:

  • NIST SP 800 Recommended Security Controls for Federal Information Systems and Organizations

  • NIST SP 800 Assessing Security Controls

  • NIST SP 800 Guide for Applying the Risk Management Framework

  • NIST SP 800 Wireless Network Security

  • NIST SP 800 IT Security Services

  • NIST SP 800 Guideline on Network Security Testing

  • NIST SP 800 IT Security Awareness and Training Program

  • NIST SP 800 Contingency Planning for IT Systems

  • NIST SP 800 Guidelines on Firewalls and Firewall Policy

  • NIST SP 800 Securing Public Web Servers

  • NIST SP 800 Email Security

  • NIST SP 800 Interconnection IT Systems

  • Certified Professional Security Consultants

NIST Cyber Security Program Overview 

Risk Categorization: Organizations must categorize their information and information systems in order of risk to ensure that sensitive information and the systems that use it are given the highest level of security. 

System Security Plan: NIST requires agencies to create a security plan which is regularly maintained and kept up to date. The plan should cover things like the security controls implemented within the organization, security policies, and a timetable for the introduction of further controls.

Security Controls: NIST outlines an extensive catalog of suggested security controls for NIST compliance. NIST does not require an agency to implement every single control; instead, they are instructed to implement the controls that are relevant to their organization and systems. Once the appropriate controls are selected and the security requirements have been satisfied, the organizations must document the selected controls in their system security plan.

Risk Assessments: Risk assessments are a key element of NIST’s information security requirements. NIST offers some guidance on how agencies should conduct risk assessments. According to the NIST guidelines, risk assessments should be three-tiered to identify security risks at the organizational level, the business process level, and the information system level.
Certification and Accreditation: NIST requires program officials and agency heads to conduct annual security reviews to ensure risks are kept to a minimum level. Agencies can achieve NIST Certification and Accreditation (C&A) through a four-phased process which includes initiation and planning, certification, accreditation, and continuous monitoring.